Cricket Club

With recorded minutes dating back to 1909, Barcombe Cricket Club has been active for over a hundred years. We intend that it will continue to prosper and keep the tradition of village cricket alive for many years to come!

Currently we are enjoying a period of growth and success, with our Senior First team winning the First Division trophy — for the first time — last season.

Our Junior section, which has more than 60 members, has also been victorious and there is the prospect of further challenge this season. Ably led by Alex Lahood (with assistance from Duncan Johanson, Kate Coppard and Rupert Culme-Seymour along with many others) the Junior Section will field teams of Under 8s, 9s, 11s & 12s in 2010. At present Harry Wootten (under 10s) represents us in Sussex, with Callum Coppard (under 11s) and Nick Beck (under 12s) both selected for the Eastern Eagles Squad.

Joe Wheatley skippers our Senior First team, with Monty Clarke heading our Second team and Brian Wheatley leading the Sunday squad. Our Senior Cricket is played in the East Sussex League.

In response to current legislation, we are seeking Clubmark status. This means we will pursue and practice all the required standards and conditions to allow people of all ages and abilities — and of both sexes — to enjoy, in relative safety, the benefits of our sport.

We have an active Club Development Plan. This allows us to expand in many ways to embrace the demands and costs of the modern game.

Our Club President is Paul Trower. Graham Tomsett is Chairman & Treasurer, while Kate Coppard is Acting Secretary.

We are looking for help in administrative roles within the club, and are keen to recruit anybody with a knowledge of cricket or just an enthusiasm for the game!

2010 and beyond marks an exciting challenge for us. Our intention is to provide and promote the best of this sport in our village and beyond.

Contact us
Please see the Barcombe News for contact info, or visit us at: